About Me

Where my inspiration comes from:

  • Yoga - I started yoga, meditation and fitness as a way to care for my mental health, and manage stress. I believe in the mind-body connection - a healthy body leads to a healthy mind and a healthy mind leads to a healthy body. I've personally seen this in my family and with my mom who I lost when I was 22 years old and the transformation I've experienced within myself since starting my journey.
    I was not an athletic or outdoorsy kid. I never played sports or did gymnastics. I was shy and stiff in my movement. I lacked body awareness. So I felt like I had an extra challenge in my yoga journey so I ventured into different forms of movement which also led me to include different forms of fitness into my routine. I went into yoga and fitness as a complete beginner, clueless and a skeptic. I believe I can make my yoga classes accessible to every body type, ability, background and need. I believe those who are where I was before I started yoga (beginners) are the ones who need it, not only athletes, gymnasts or dancers. My goal is to inspire growth and mind-body wellness in others.

  • Educating Kids - I hated school and studying growing up, I struggled with it. But, that's what inspires my teaching. My goal is to inspire those kids who struggle like I did through engaging, interactive and accessible lessons for learners of all needs and interests. 
    I've been to about 20 different schools growing up, I've been the new kid a lot and experienced different curricula so I believe I can relate to and empathize with children of all ages. 

 

Fun/Random Facts about me:

  • My name is Mayumi, but most people call me May. No I'm not Japanese! =) My mom found the name in an Asian fairy tale which I'm yet to find! 

  • I've lived in 9 countries: Saudi Arabia, England, Canada, Bahrain, America, South Korea, Thailand, Singapore and Malaysia in that order. 

  • I'm a Third Culture Kid. My mom's mom was from Assam India, My mom's dad was from West Pakistan, my dad's mom is from Myanmar and my dad's dad was from Bangladesh. My parents were born and raised in Dhaka, Bangladesh but I was born in Saudi Arabia. I moved to Brighton, England when I was around 5 years old, lived there for about 5 years on and off, then immigrated to Toronto, Canada in 1999 when I was 10 years old so I'm a Canadian citizen. I finished high school in Saudi Arabia at an international school.

Qualifications and professional experience:

  • Certificate in Documentary Film Making, Seneca College, Toronto 2014 Project: Third Culture Kids, Film titled: Goodbye – a TCK story https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mp-lt0P1ZiI

  • Bachelor of Arts, Psychology 2013 York University, Toronto Psychology Courses: Educational Psychology, Community Psychology, and Behavior in Groups 

  • Integrative Yoga 200HR certification, Yogshakti, Kuala Lumpur 2019

  • 120HR TEFL Certification, Learn TEFL 2019

  • Foundations of Yoga Psychology, with Ashley Turner, Yoga Conference & Show, Toronto 2017

  • Science of Stretching, with Ray Long, Yoga Conference & Show,

  • Toronto 2017 Movement Research Intensives 12 weeks, with Diane Bruni, Yoga Yoga: a studio, Toronto 2017

  • Professional Classroom experience with kids since 2013